Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race – Australia

For more than 70 years, the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race has captivated the attention of seafarers on Australia’s western coast, making it one of the most widely covered yachting events in the world. Film crews from across the world flock to Sydney to capture the start of the yacht race. A total of 14 trophies are up for grabs, from the George Adams Tattershall Cup, which is awarded to the overall winner, to the Polish Trophy, which is handed to the competitors who travel from the furthest away to compete. A busy schedule of shoreside events complements the racing action, offering fun for all.

About the Yacht Racecourse

Each Boxing Day, a fleet of luxury sailing yachts depart the capital of New South Wales for Hobart, the capital of Tasmania. The 628 nautical mile course is among the world’s most challenging long ocean courses. Rough seas and strong storms have been known to test sailors.

Who Can Take Part in the Rolex Sydney Hobart Regatta?

The race is open to sailing yachts of all types, from luxurious gaff-rigged cutters to maxi yachts. Both owners and charterers are eligible to compete with their crew. Each year, over 1,000 sailors participate in the yacht race, from a number of countries around the world. In 2018, a total of 85 sailing yachts took part in the regatta. Each vessel must carry between six and 24 crewmembers, and at least half of the crew must have completed a Sea Safety Survival Course. Approximately 600,000 spectators are expected to gather on Sydney Harbour foreshore, and the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia will also welcome thousands over the course of the race.

Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2019

The next edition of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race will set sail at 13:00 AEDT on 26th December 2019.